Lanzarote is an island in the Canary archipelago(Spain), in the Atlantic Ocean. It belongs to the province of Las Palmas. Its capital is Arrecife.

It is popularly known as "the island of volcanoes", as it is identified with the volcanic mantle that extends along a large part of its surface due to the great volcanic activity at the beginning of the 20th century. XVIIIth century.

Lanzarote is located at a distance of approximately 140 km from the island. km of the north-west coast african and 1000 from the nearest point of the European continentthe south of the Iberian Peninsula. Its northernmost point is the cape or Punta Fariones, and its southernmost point is Punta del Papagayo. Its climate is subtropical with little rainfall. It has an area of 845.93 km² (km²) and a population of 141,938 inhabitants (INEJanuary 2009). It consists of seven municipalities, of which the most populated one is ReefThe island's capital. To the north of the island are the islets and smaller islands of Alegranza, La Graciosa, Clear Mountain, Roque del Este y Roque del Oestewhich form the Chinijo Archipelagoadministratively dependent on Lanzarote.

Las Peñas del Chache, located in Haría, at an altitude of 671 m, is the highest peak on the island. Lanzarote was declared a Biosphere Reserve by Unesco in 1993. In addition, the Canary Islands Network of Protected Natural Spaces includes a total of 13 natural environments on the island, which account for more than 40% of the island's territory, including the Timanfaya National Park.

In the past, the island was mainly dedicated to agriculture and fishing on the Canary Islands-Saharan fishing bank, but nowadays the island's economy revolves around the service sector, mainly the powerful tourist industry. To this activity is beginning to be added viticulture, which was important in previous centuries and which has been relaunched with the creation of the Designation of Origin for Lanzarote wines.

The island has the Lanzarote-Guasimeta AirportThe main ports are in the municipality of San Bartolomé, as well as the maritime ports: Puerto de los Mármoles in the municipality of Arrecife, and the port of Playa Blanca in the municipality of Yaiza.

The island of La Graciosa is located in the north of the island.

Share it